top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGlynis Perrett

Teacher Feature #1: Dr. Carolyn Creighton

Updated: Aug 16, 2019


Over this African adventure I'd like to introduce you to the 12 other Queen's University teacher candidates. My first friend I'd like to introduce you to is Carolyn Creighton! 1 Million Teachers featured her on their Facebook page - here's what they wrote:


For The Love of Teaching - Part 3: Meet Teacher Candidate, Carolyn Creighton, Ph.D., Biomedical Science and Neuroscience.


"When I was finishing up my Ph.D., I wasn't sure which direction I wanted to go. I had friends who had gone on to post-doctoral work or into industry, but neither of those felt like the right option for me. I had a number of teaching experiences during my Ph.D. both as a teaching assistant and a guest lecturer, and I really enjoyed those opportunities. Shortly after finishing my Ph.D., the opportunity to teach a course at the university became available. This was an opportunity to truly immerse myself in teaching. It was the first time I had the sole responsibility to coordinate the course, develop lessons and assessments, and build relationships with students. I loved being in the classroom and based off these experiences, I decided to apply to Bachelor of Education programs. I started my BEd at Queen's in May 2018, and I'll complete my degree in August 2019.


Even after I accepted my BEd offer, I was still a little apprehensive. How would teaching at the middle school and high school level compare to university? My experiences on practicum have confirmed that I made the right choice. I love being in the classroom, interacting with students and sharing knowledge." - 1 Million Teachers

58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page